Our Board

ACHPER WA is governed by an Honorary Board, whose purpose is to provide ACHPER WA with strategic direction. The Board acts proactively to drive the work of the organisation and to meet current and future demands of our members and the broader community. 

Graeme Quelch - ACHPER WA Patron - Former ACHPER WA President -  Life Member)

Manager of Curriculum and Moderation at SCSA

Graeme first joined the ACHPER WA Board in 1991 and, except for a year’s teaching exchange in Canada in 1993, held positions on the state and national boards continuously until August 2016.

Graeme was WA state president of ACHPER from 1998 – 2004. He became national vice president in 2005 and went on to become national president in 2008 until August 2016. He was then made a fellow of ACHPER in 2000, was awarded Life Membership in 2008 and was awarded a National Honour award in 2016.

Graeme’s commitment and unconditional support for ACHPER and for the world of health and physical education spans 29 years from 1991 to the present. He has been an outstanding role model and excellent advocate to peers and members of various professional associations at both state and national level. His ongoing commitment to the education of young people in the values and attitudes that are essential to the promotion of healthy active lifestyles has been untiring. His efforts, energy and commitment over 29 years has helped to ensure the continued growth of ACHPER at both state and national levels.

Dr Fadi Maayah - President ACHPER WA

Lecturer in Health and Physical Education in the School of Education at Curtin University

Fadi is a senior academic and level 3 physical education classroom teacher with extensive experience gained in his chosen area of sports science and physical education. Furthermore, Fadi has helped attract a wide variety of grants from various industry players to complete sports science related research and study. More recently, Fadi has established a high level of research in sports science.  


Dino Manalis - Vice President ACHPER WA

Principal Consultant, Health and Physical Education for SCSA

Dino has been a teacher of Health and Physical Education (HPE) for over 23 years, including four years as Head of Learning Area. Teaching experience includes primary and secondary schools from the Department of Education and Catholic Education of WA. In 2007, Dino was appointed as one of eight Teacher Development Centre Coordinators to support DoE teachers with the implementation of the Physical Education Studies WACE course. Later in 2007, Dino won the position of Moderation and Standards Officer (HPE) at the Curriculum Council of WA. In that role , Dino was responsible for the implementation and moderation of the PES, OED and HEA courses and was pivotal in the design and implementation of the PES practical examination. Dino was selected by the Council Executive to coordinate WA responses to the design of the Australian Curriculum as well as subsequent reviews.

Over the past 14 years, Dino has developed several support materials for teachers of Health and Physical Education in years P-12. He has delivered numerous professional development workshops at schools, universities and ACHPER conferences. Dino is currently Chair of the Exercise and Sports Science Consultative Committee at Edith Cowan University, Joondalup. He has previously been a Member of the Notre Dame University Health Sciences External Advisory Board.

Matt Donaldson - Board Member

HPE Teacher at Presbyterian Ladies' College

Matthew has been teaching HPE at Presbyterian Ladies’ College for the last 13 years. He is an International Baccalaureate (IB) Curriculum Workshop Leader for the Asia Pacific region, a PHE Building Quality Curriculum examiner, and a Sessional Lecturer at the University of Notre Dame. His passion is to create digital content to facilitate learning and skill development, and is an author of HPE e-books.



Christina Davini - Board Member

Deputy Principal at Holly Cross College

Christina has worked primarily as a HPE teacher in K-12 for 20 years within several WA schools. Teaching a variety of Schools, including the International Baccalaureate curriculum, she has developed a diverse range of innovative teaching and learning pedagogy. Christina joined Holy Cross College in 2013 and has since been involved in many key building and design projects along with setting up many policies and procedures of the school. Mental Health and Wellbeing is of particularly importance to Christina. This passion is something she wants schools and communities to have a greater understanding and awareness of, to ensure we are assisting today’s students in helping them deal with these very important issues. Outside of teaching, Christina’s hobby is Personal Training and exploring WA.

Mitchell Harvie - Board Member

General Manager- MBA Sports Coaching

Mitch has a passion for HPE and Leadership and is actively involved in the HPE community including holding roles as the Western Australia School Sports Association Treasurer, School Sport WA Cell Leader, Tertiary Tutor. Mitch has completed a Bachelor of Health and Physical Education (Primary) and a Master’s in Business Administration. Mitch has also been involved with ACHPER WA as a past conference presenter and created the “Perth HPE teacher – Share and connect” Facebook group.


 Antoniett Halden - Board Member

Principal Consultant, Health and Physical Education (Primary) for SCSA

 Corey May - Board Member)

Teacher at Carey Baptist College

Corey completed a Bachelor of Applied Science at the University of Notre Dame Australia before completing a Graduate Diploma in Education to move into teaching where he now specialises in Outdoor Education working in the role of Director of Outdoor Education for the past 8 years. He has previous experience as HPE Head of Learning area. A role he served in for four years. Corey has been involved in teaching courses of study in senior secondary years in the General and ATAR pathway streams. Corey has been heavily involved in exam writing and marking and also sits on the Course Advisory Committee with the School Curriculum and Standards Authority as the ACHPER representative. 


Robyn Blackwell - Board Member

Primary Physical Education Specialist at Beaumaris Primary School


Derek Rijnhart - Board Member

Physical Education Specialist- Applecross Primary School

Derek is an enthusiastic, energetic and dedicated Physical Education teacher who is passionate about student learning and achievement. He gains enormous satisfaction from empowering young people to learn and achieve their best and is committed to helping make a difference in their lives.  Derek sees sport and physical education as an important part of community and personal growth and enjoys sharing this with the students he teaches.     

Dr Genevieve McSporran - Board Member

Lecturer in Health and Physical Education at Murdoch University

Gen is passionate about the transformative powers of education. In particular, the capacity of education to improve students’ life choices and chances. Gen's broad experiences include strong teaching credentials, research capabilities, as well as leadership roles in policy development and analysis, curriculum design and development, pastoral care and staff development. Gen's teaching roles span primary, secondary, alternative university entry and tertiary settings. Gen has taught health and physical education, science, humanities and information and communication technologies. Gen believes that a sense of belonging and wellbeing is a precursor to students achieving their academic potential. As a teacher and leader Gen's strength is creating empowering, student-centred classrooms and/or initiatives that challenge students to achieve personal excellence.

Steele Morrell - Board Member

Head of Department, Health and Physical Education at Kinross College